He Knows Us

Sometimes I think we Christians like to believe that when we start a relationship with our Heavenly Father, it is like starting a relationship with anyone. There was a period when my husband and I, my friends and I, even my mother, father, and siblings and I all had to “get to know” each other. I am seeing this with my children every day. They are growing and learning and expressing different attributes of their personality on a daily, sometimes hourly, basis.

I am still learning them.

I’ve known my husband for fourteen years and we’ve been together for almost twelve, married for over nine but every once in a while he will do something that is totally unlike him (as far as I know) or he will say something that I couldn’t have possibly guessed he’d say.

I’m still learning him.

Sometimes I feel that God is the same way and of course on my end it is the same. Sometimes God completely surprises me. Sometimes I pray for months or years for Him to work something out in my life if it is His will and He shows me that it is not. Sometimes I pray a solitary prayer that I have no idea is in His will or not and the next day He answers it abundantly! Can we ever truly know this God?! He is wise beyond anything we can ever imagine, His ways are higher than our ways and His thoughts higher than our thoughts “as the heavens are higher than the earth” (Isaiah 55:9).

I’m still learning Him. However, there is no way to know EVERYTHING about God but He does give us a glimpse into His knowledge and wisdom, His feelings and desires, and His vision for us through His Holy Word.

It has been an amazing revelation for me in my life to realize though that God doesn’t need to learn me.
This is what Psalm 139:1-18 says:

1 O LORD, you have searched me and you know me.
2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.
3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.
4 Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely,
O LORD.
5 You hem me in – behind and before;
you have laid your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,
too lofty for me to attain.
7 Where can I go from you Spirit?
Where can I flee from you presence?
8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
the night will shine like the day,
for darkness is as light to you.
13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place.
When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,
16 your eyes saw my unformed body.
All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

17 How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!
How vast the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand.
When I awake,
I am still with you.

If there is any hint in our hearts that God doesn’t know us as well as we know ourselves, if there is any inclination to tell God how we think things should go… this passage silences those thoughts!

We can never know the thoughts of God completely but we should feel secure in knowing that He knows every last thought of ours, He knows every word before it is even spoken! How can we *not* trust Him implicitly with our lives? How can we ever think that we know better? He knows us so intimately and deeply and He loves us just as much!
That is something to be eternally grateful for and to praise Him for. I know that there are people in this world that I am not compatible with. There are people in this world that I have attained friendships with only to realize later that I struggled to love them and to maintain the friedship with them. But God’s love is not so wishy washy. He doesn’t love us because we deserve it. He doesn’t love us because we only show Him the good and presentable parts of ourselves. No. He has seen every moment from the time of our conception. He has seen every thought, heard every word, attended every breath. He knows our ugly parts that we hide from other people. He knows the good parts that we struggle to express as well. He sees our flaws, mistakes, sins, and regrets and not only does He love us DESPITE those things, He made a way for us to be forgiven, to reconcile us to Him, to cover us with His perfect and abundant grace when we didn’t deserve so much as a blanket.
“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” – Romans 5:8

It is reassuring to me that God knows every part of me. Sometimes it can be terrifying to know that fact but if we are walking in righteousness that fact can bring incredible peace. To know that He knows us and our lives are in His hands!

So, with all of that being said let us strive to know Christ more and more each day, to learn more and more about the heart of God and let’s strive to emulate our Savior and thus glorify our Heavenly Father.
Let us always rejoice in Psalms 139 and the fact that our God, the mighty counselor and King of Kings knows us so intimately and personally. Let that be our incentive to know Him more each day!

Blessings,
Diane

Leave a Reply

